Anthropology Department

Our Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Charles R. Riggs, Ph.D., RPA

Charles R. Riggs, Ph.D., RPA
Associate Professor of Anthropology & Department Chair

riggs_c@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7409

Professional interests: Southwest archaeology with emphases on prehistoric architecture, migration, GIS-based approaches, public education, Native American collaboration, and cultural resource management.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/riggs_c


Rebecca L. Austin, Ph.D.

Rebecca L. Austin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Environmental Studies

austin_r@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7346
 
Professional interests: environmental anthropology, cultural ecology, environmental movements, coastal anthropology, applied anthropology, traditional cultural properties.

Geographic regions include: Southwestern U.S., Alaska, Philippines/S.E. Asia, Florida.


Kathleen S. Fine-Dare, Ph.D.

Kathleen S. Fine-Dare, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology and Gender/Women’s Studies

fine_k@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7438Professional Interests: Indigenous cultural politics and repatriation; NAGPRA; History of anthropology; critical anthropology and indigenous advocacy; neo-liberalism and education in Latin America and the U.S.; nationalism and postcolonial theory; Latin American urban fiesta complex; intellectual property rights and Native Americans; anthropology of gender and gender asymmetry; feminist theory; ideological aspects of museum and cultural park interpretation and displays; tourism.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/fine_k


Kelly L. Jenks, Ph.D.

Kelly L. Jenks, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Gender/Women's Studies

 
kljenks@fortlewis.edu
970-247-7273

Professional interests: the history and late prehistory of the U.S. Southwest and Great Plains; social identity theory; cross-cultural contact and culture change; regional economic systems; Spanish colonial history and archaeology; historical archaeology; ethnohistory; archaeologies of gender, age, sexuality, and personhood; Hispanic corporate communities; and community archaeology.

More information at http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/kljenks/


David Kozak, Ph.D.

David Kozak, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology

kozak_d@fortlewis.edu
970-247-7498

Professional interests: Medical anthropology, applied anthropology, oral traditions, adventure culture, service learning, US Southwest, East Africa.


Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology

mulhern_d@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7500

Professional interests: Skeletal biology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology, human evolution, and repatriation, with an emphasis on ancient North American, Egyptian and Nubian populations.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/mulhern_d

Emeritus Faculty

Philip Duke, Ph.D., F.S.A., Professor Emeritus
duke_p@fortlewis.edu

Don Gordon, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
gordon_d@fortlewis.edu

W. James Judge, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
judge_j@fortlewis.edu

Susan Riches, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
riches_s@fortlewis.edu

Print