Full-Time Faculty

Charles R. Riggs, Ph.D., RPA

Charles R. Riggs, Ph.D., RPA
Professor of Anthropology & Department Chair

riggs_c@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7409

Professional interests: Southwest archaeology with emphases on prehistoric architecture; migration; GIS-based approaches; public education; Native American collaboration; and cultural resource management.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/riggs_c


Rebecca L. Austin, Ph.D.

Rebecca L. Austin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Environmental Studies

austin_r@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7346
 
Professional interests: Ecological medicine; environment and health; ethnobotany; indigenous healing systems; reproductive health; culturally appropriate health care service delivery and applied medical anthropology; Tarahumara; N. Mexico & borderlands, indigenous peoples of the Southwest US.


Kathleen S. Fine-Dare, Ph.D.

Kathleen S. Fine-Dare, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology and Gender/Women’s Studies

fine_k@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7438

Professional Interests: Indigenous cultural politics and repatriation; NAGPRA; History of anthropology; critical anthropology and indigenous advocacy; neo-liberalism and education in Latin America and the U.S.; nationalism and postcolonial theory; Latin American urban fiesta complex; intellectual property rights and Native Americans; anthropology of gender and gender asymmetry; feminist theory; ideological aspects of museum and cultural park interpretation and displays; tourism.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/fine_k


Kelly L. Jenks, Ph.D.

Kelly L. Jenks, Ph.D., RPA
Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Gender/Women's Studies

 
kljenks@fortlewis.edu
970-247-7273

Professional interests: the history and late prehistory of the U.S. Southwest and Great Plains; social identity theory; cross-cultural contact and culture change; regional economic systems; Spanish colonialism and Hispanic settlement; historical archaeology; ethnohistory; citizenship and civic identities; community archaeology; cultural resource management.

More information at http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/kljenks/


David Kozak, Ph.D.

David KozakPh.D.
Professor of Anthropology

kozak_d@fortlewis.edu
970-247-7498

Professional interests: Medical anthropology; applied anthropology; oral traditions; adventure culture; service learning; US Southwest; East Africa.



Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology

mulhern_d@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7500

Professional interests: Skeletal biology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology, human evolution, and repatriation, with an emphasis on ancient North American, Egyptian and Nubian populations.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/mulhern_d

Emeritus Faculty

Philip Duke, Ph.D., F.S.A., Professor Emeritus
duke_p@fortlewis.edu

Don Gordon, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
gordon_d@fortlewis.edu

W. James Judge, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
judge_j@fortlewis.edu

Susan Riches, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
riches_s@fortlewis.edu