Biology Department

Our Faculty

Cellular and Molecular Biology Faculty

David BlakeDr. David Blake
(970) 247-7570
Email: blake_d@fortlewis.edu
Faculty Web Page
Berndt Hall, RM 481

Interests include toxicology and immunology - specifically the cellular and molecular events in alveolar macrophages and epithelial cells that initiate immunological responses to  xenobiotics.

Dr. Shere ByrdDr. Shere Byrd
(970) 247-7667
Email: byrd_s@fortlewis.edu
Berndt Hall, RM 2451

Interests include cell and molecular physiology, and specifically with the role of signal transduction scaffolding in cellular differentiation, pre-health advising.

Dr. John CondieDr. John Condie
(970) 247-7145
Email: condie_j@fortlewis.edu
Berndt Hall 2481

Interests include genetics and cell biology, especially the regulation of gene expression, history and philosophy of science.


Environmental and Organismic Biology Faculty

Dr. Cynthia DottDr. Cynthia Dott
(970) 247-7322
Email: dott_c@fortlewis.edu
Faculty Web Page
Berndt Hall 2445

Interests include plant ecology, with special focus on riparian (stream) vegetation and disturbance.




Dr. Cathy HartneyDr. Cathy Hartney
(970) 247-7373
Email: hartney_c@fortlewis.edu
Berndt Hall, RM 2435

A practicing veterinarian, interests include animal and human anatomy, physiology, and disease and pedagogy
in the sciences. 

Dr. Deborah KendallDr. Deborah Kendall
(970) 247-7318
Email: kendall_d@fortlewis.edu
Berndt Hall, RM 2433

Interests include pollination biology, entomology, and biological control.


Dr. Julie KorbDr. Julie Korb
(970) 382-6905
Email: korb_j@fortlewis.edu
Faculty Web Page
Berndt Hall, RM 2443 

Interests include forest restoration ecology, fire ecology, and plant community control.

Dr. Erin Lehmer

Dr. Erin Lehmer
(970) 247-7024
Email: lehmer_e@fortlewis.edu
Berndt Hall, RM 2441

Interests include physiological ecology with emphasis on wildlife disease and hibernation/over-winter physiology.

Dr. Ross McCauleyDr. Ross McCauley
(970) 247-7338
Email: mccauley_r@fortlewis.edu
Faculty Web Page
Berndt Hall, RM 447

Interests include vascular plant systematics, particularly in understanding phylogenetic and phylogeographic
patterns in plant evolution. Also interested in plant population biology, conservation genetics, and floristics.



Dr. Joseph OrtegaDr. Joseph Ortega
(970) 247-7458
Email: ortega_j@fortlewis.edu
Berndt Hall, RM 2463

Interests include ecology and behavior of birds and mammals, avian reproductive success according to habitat and different grazing intensities, and the initial effects of the 2002 Missionary Ridge Fire on avian populations.

Dr. Heidi SteltzerDr. Heidi Steltzer
(970) 247-7450
Email: steltzer_h@fortlewis.edu
Berndt Hall 461

Interests include the effects of climate change on Arctic and alpine ecosystems, especially the function of these ecosystems as plant life histories and species composition change.  Areas of interest include ecosystem ecology, global change biology and global environmental health. 

In Memoriam

Dr. Ginny Hutchins
Dr. James Erickson

Emeriti Faculty

Dr. Page Lindsay
Dr. Thomas Sluss
Dr. Preston Somers
Dr. David Jamieson

Print
FLC Facebook Page Twitter Feed YouTube Channel Pinterest Page Instagram Page More Social Media Sites