Biology Department

Our Faculty & Staff

Office Manager

Barb Rosten, Office Manager
Berndt Hall, Rm 441
(970) 247-7446
rosten_b@fortlewis.edu

Cellular & Molecular Biology Faculty

Dr. David Blake, Assistant Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 481
(970) 247-7570
blake_d@fortlewis.edu

Faculty Webpage

Interests include toxicology and immunology - specifically the cellular and molecular events in alveolar macrophages and epithelial cells that initiate immunological responses to xenobiotics.

Dr. Shere Byrd, Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2451
970-247-7667
byrd_s@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.S. Biology, 1980, Western State College
Ph.D.  Applied Physiology, 1987, University of Oregon
Interests include cell and molecular physiology, and specifically with the role of signal transduction scaffolding in cellular differentiation, pre-health advising.

Dr. John Condie, Associate Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2481
970-247-7145
condie_j@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.S., Northeast Missouri State University, 1974
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1984
Interests include genetics and cell biology, especially the regulation of gene expression, history and philosophy of science.

Dr. Steven Fenster, Assistant Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 461
970-247-7327
sdfenster@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.S., University of California-San Diego, 1991
Ph.D., University of Alabama-Birmingham, 2000
Interests - Molecular Neurobiology including synaptic physiology and structure, parallels between the immune and nervous system, and alternative splicing of neural specific genes. Other interests include genetics of tomatoes.

 

 

Environmental & Organismic Biology Faculty

Dr. Cynthia Dott, Associate Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2445
(970) 247-7332
dott_c@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.S., 1985, Colorado College, Colorado Springs
M.S., 1990, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Ph.D., 1996, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Interests Interests include plant ecology, with special focus on riparian (stream) vegetation and disturbance.

Dr. Cathy Hartney, Visiting Instructor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2435
970-247-7373
hartney_c@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.A., 1980, Albion College, Michigan
D.V.M. 1988, Colorado State University
Interests: A practicing veterinarian, interests include animal and human anatomy, physiology, and disease and pedagogy in the sciences.

Dr.Deborah Kendall, Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2422
970-247-7318
kendall_d@fortlewis.edu

Interests include pollination biology, entomology, and biological control.

Dr. Julie Korb, Associate Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2443
970-382-6905
korb_j@fortlewis.edu

Interests include forest restoration ecology, fire ecology, and plant community control.

Dr.Erin Lehmer, Assistant Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2441
970-247-7024
lehmer_e@fortlewis.edu

Interests include physiological ecology with emphasis on wildlife disease and hibernation/over-winter physiology.

Dr. Ross McCauley, Assistant Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 447
970-247-7338
mcCauley_r@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.S., 1995, Northland College, Ashland, WI

M.S., 1999, Ohio University, Athens, OH
Ph.D., 2002, Ohio University, Athens, OH
Interests include vascular plant systematics, particularly in understanding phylogenetic and phylogeographic patterns in plant evolution. Also interested in plant population biology, conservation genetics, and floristics.
Dr.Joseph Ortega, Chair/Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 2469
970-247-7458
ortega_j@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.A., University of California, Los Angeles, 1980
Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder, 1988
Interests include ecology and behavior of birds and mammals, avian reproductive success according to habitat and different grazing intensities, and the initial effects of the 2002 Missionary Ridge Fire on avian populations.

Dr. Heidi Steltzer, Assistant Professor
Berndt Hall, Rm 461
970-247-7450
steltzer_h@fortlewis.edu

Education: B.S., Duke University, 1993
Ph.D., University of Colorado, 1999
Interests include the effects of climate change on Arctic and alpine ecosystems, especially the function of these ecosystems as plant life histories and species composition change.  Areas of interest include ecosystem ecology, global change biology and global environmental health. 


In Memorium

Dr. Ginny Hutchins
Dr. James Erickson

Emeriti Faculty

Dr. Page Lindsey
Dr. Thomas Sluss
Dr. Preston Somers
Dr. David Jamieson
Dr. Al Spencer

FLC Facebook Page Twitter Feed YouTube Channel Pinterest Page Instagram Page More Social Media Sites