What is a Registered Student Organization?

Students at Fort Lewis College have the right to form, join and participate in groups that promote common interests. Fort Lewis College considers this type of assembly to be essential to a student’s development and a cornerstone of their educational experience.

Registered Student Organizations (RSOs) are groups whose membership is comprised mainly of full-time students at FLC, as well as faculty, staff or individuals from the community. Only full-time FLC students may serve as officers and have controlling interest in the organization. RSOs may be academic and career related, cultural, faith-based, service, and interest specific.

RSOs are affiliated with, but not official units of FLC. RSOs must agree to abide by all College regulations and establish their affiliation with the College on an annual basis via the RSO registration process administered by ASFLC and the Financial Allocation Board (FAB).

Please browse through our Registered Student Organizations using the links below. For more information please contact The Leadership Center in SU 171 or (970) 247-7394.

Image of student clubs

 
A-B-C
 

All People's Lodge

All People's Lodge (APL) focuses on cultural revitalization through oral traditional ”sweat lodge” participation, enabling neighboring Native nations to hold-tribal specific-sweat ceremonies for female & male participants. APL will mediate the process of ensuring: respect for the sweat lodges (Female & Male), the acquisition of outside-tribal specific-sweat leaders, maintaining lodge grounds, safety of participants, etc.

President: Shawn Rico, sdrico@fortlewis.edu 
Advisor: Joey Dell, jedell@fortlewis.edu 


FLC American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Student Chapter

The purpose of this Association is to advance the science of geology, especially as it relates to petroleum, natural gas, and other energy mineral resources; to promote the technology of exploring for, finding, and producing these materials from the earth; to foster the spirit of scientific research throughout its membership; to disseminate information relating to the geology and the associated technology of petroleum, natural gas, and other energy mineral resources; to inspire and maintain a high standard of professional conduct on the part of its membership; to provide the public with means of recognition of adequately trained and professionally responsible petroleum geologists; and to advance the professional wellbeing of its membership. We also provide a means of contact with the geological profession both inside and outside of academia. 

President: Josh Adams, jgadams@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Gary Gianinny, gianinny_g@fortlewis.edu


American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES)

The FLC AISES organization is a diverse group of individuals whose purpose is to promote Native Americans in the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) fields, and  to provide networking opportunities at National and Regional AISES Conferences.

President: Luke Hullinger, lhullinger@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Elizabeth Mason, emmason@fortlewis.edu


ASFLC (Associated Students of Fort Lewis College) Student Government

ASFLC and its subcommittees are a governing body of students that make decisions related to funding for all other RSOs. Members are representatives of the student body of Fort Lewis College and act as liaisons between the student population and the College itself. Every student at the college is technically a member of ASFLC, however, separate membership requirements are listed for senator, court, and executive positions.

President: Scott Greenler, smgreenler@fortlewis.edu 
Advisor: Mark Mastalski, mastalski_m@fortlewis.edu


Ballet Folklorico de Fort Lewis College

Ballet Folklorico de Fort Lewis College is a dance group that embraces Hispanic culture through dancing traditional Mexican Folklore. We want to provide opportunities for students to learn how to dance and perform these traditional dances both on- and off-campus. We also want to provide opportunities for students to travel around the United States and Mexico to learn different styles of Folkloric dancing from different regions of Mexico through workshops. All students can join regardless of ethnicity or skill.

President: Ciara Carey, cjcarey@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Shirena Trujillo-Long, long_s@fortlewis.edu


Beta Alpha Psi

Founded in 1919, Beta Alpha Psi is an honor organization for finance and accounting majors. There are over 300 chapters on college and university campuses with over 300,000 members initiated since Beta Alpha Psi's formation. The primary objective of Beta Alpha Psi is to encourage and give recognition to scholastic and professional excellence in the business information field.

President: Shane Saginak, stsaginak@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Chris Lyon, Lyon_C@fortlewis.edu


Buffalo Council

Buffalo Council addresses Native American student retention by promoting the agenda of Indigenous cultures, issues of sovereignty, cultural preservation, a safe environment, and a quality education at Fort Lewis College.

President: Patrick Burtt, plburtt@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Elizabeth Mason, emmason@fortlewis.edu


Chemistry Club

The Fort Lewis College Chemistry Club is an organization that strives to bring together students who are interested in chemistry by performing informative, but exciting weekly demonstrations, community-oriented events, and many other activities. Our primary objective is to display a perspective of chemistry that is intellectually stimulating, but at the same time entertaining and enjoyable for students from all disciplines.

President: Spencer Huffman, sehuffman@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Bill Collins, collins_w@fortlewis.edu


Chess Mates

Chess Mates exists to bring individuals together to experience all things chess.

Chess Master Zero: Ryan Seamus Royer, rroyer@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Curtis Elifritz, celifritz@fortlewis.edu


Club Del Centro

Club Del Centro is a multicultural student-led organization that focuses on promoting Latino culture through the means of food, social, and educational events. We will meet in the El Centro office on the ground floor of the Student Union.

President: Danielle Lucero, dllucero@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Shirena Trujillo Long, long_s@fortlewis.edu


Fort Lewis Country Club

The Fort Lewis Country Club is a tennis and golf club where urban sophistication meets Fort Lewis tradition. At the Fort Lewis Country Club, members become friends and have experiences that are cherished for a lifetime. Our commitment is to help create lasting memories for years to come.

President: River White, rowhite1@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Felicia Meyer, meyer_f@fortlewis.edu 

 
D-E-F
 

Dance Co-Motion

Dance Co-Motion is a student run organization designed around the shared passion and interest of dance. Many styles are brought to the group including ballet, lyrical, hip-hop, belly dancing, and much more. All levels of dance experience are welcome. Our main focus is to provide dance for enjoyment. Students choreograph pieces and put on a show, which brings a large crowd, at the end of every semester. It's a great way to get involved on campus and be a part of the community!  Discover friendships and new dance styles with Dance Co-Motion!

President: Stephanie McKenney, smckenney@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Anne Berg Pattillo, berg_a@fortlewis.edu


Environmental Center (EC)

The Fort Lewis College Environmental Center is a 22-year strong campus organization committed to the future of both our planet and the people living upon it. We work towards these goals by first identifying areas on campus or in our community that are ripe for positive change and then providing FLC students with the opportunity to become the agents of that change through project management, engagement, or participation. In turn, through the training, development, teamwork, and leadership required to develop and actualize project concepts, EC students become the passionate, skilled leaders and citizens that our society will require post-graduation.

Coordinator: Rachel Landis, rllandis@fortlewis.edu


FLC Wild

FLC Wild promotes education, awareness, and hands-on conservation stewardship of wildlands and wildlife among FLC students and the surrounding community. We aim to build a group which enjoys and respects nature with a strong commitment to an ecologically conscious, resilient future which respects the vast diversity of life on earth. Join us for opportunities to get out, work hard, and get WILD!

Coordinator: Lionel Di Giacomo, lddigiacomo@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Lee Frazer, frazer_l@fortlewis.edu


Frolf Club

We plan and discuss disc golfing activities.

President: James Pritchett, japritchett@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Jake Epps, epps_j@fortlewis.edu

 
G-H-I
 

Geology Club

Open to both geology majors and non-majors, the purpose of the Geology Club is to support interests in the geosciences via field trips, events, guest speakers, and community outreach.

President: Sara Holden, scholden@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Kim Hannula, hannula_k@fortlewis.edu


Healthcare Professions Club

The Healthcare Professions Club will concentrate on coordinating volunteer opportunities, providing preparation materials for entrance exams, scheduling guest speakers, and organizing healthcare discussions.

President: Michael Glade, mmglade@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Shere Byrd, byrd_s@fortlewis.edu 


Images

Images is a literary arts organization dedicated to promoting fine arts within the college and local community. The annual magazine is a forum for creativity, which gives students an outlet to publish works of literature, photography, and art. 

Editor: Jaimee Souder, jrsouder@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Shawn Fullmer, fullmer_s@fortlewis.edu


Independent News

The Independent (Indy) is a student-managed news organization that strives to provide relevant news and information to the student community through its news magazine, website, social media, and video production. The Indy provides students the opportunity to gain real-world experience with producing news content.

Editor-in-Chief: Trevor Ogborn, twogborn@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Leslie Blood, blood_l@fortlewis.edu

 
J-K-L
 

KDUR

KDUR, volunteer-powered community radio, creates a bridge between Fort Lewis College and La Plata County, by offering diverse music, alternative news, and local public affairs programming. KDUR provides educational and training opportunities in a professional setting for Fort Lewis College students and community members.

Station Manager: Bryant Liggett liggett_b@fortlewis.edu

M-N-O
 

Master Plan Ministries

Master Plan Ministries is a non-denominational Christian ministry at FLC that seeks to provide every student with a loving and accepting atmosphere where they can experience Christ's life-changing message, grow in their individual strengths and develop the greatest friendships of their lives. We offer Christian fellowship and personal growth opportunities, as well as leadership development and mentorship programs.

President: Nicole O'Hara, nlohara@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Gordy Herrick, herrick_g@fortlewis.edu


Meditation Club

The Fort Lewis College Meditation Club aspires to allow students to explore divinity, self-realization, and spiritual awareness through meditation in a safe and healthy environment. We intend not only to help our members in their personal growth and exploration of these modalities, but also to facilitate a relaxation and integration process that can be beneficial physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. We bring guest speakers to the weekly group, practice various forms of meditation, and hope to promote a more peaceful world through self-transformation. It is our mission to improve the happiness and health of the Fort Lewis College students and staff, as well as Durango community members and beyond.

President: Lionel DiGiacomo, lddigiacomo@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Judy Austin, austin_j@fortlewis.edu


Native American Honor Society

We are dedicated to providing a place for like-minded scholars to join and give back to the community while maintaining academic excellence. We recognize and promote academic achievement and superior scholastic ability among undergraduate Native American Students.

President: Natalie Joe, nsjoe@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: William Mangrum, mangrum_w@fortlewis.edu 


Native American Outdoor Club

The NAOC is enthusiastic about providing educational outdoor adventure opportunities to the Native and non-Native student population of Fort Lewis College. Through adventure activities, the NAOC strives to influence cross-cultural teachings while providing opportunities for students to become proficient in activity specific skills.

President: KeNeda Randall, kcrandall@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Joey Dell, jedell@fortlewis.edu

 
P-Q-R
 

Political Science Club

The Political Science Club is an organization open to anyone that is interested in politics, debate, and enriching conversations that deal with the political atmospheres around the world and in history. One of the main purposes of the club is to educate the campus on events that are happening around the world by having open debates and organizing speaking events featuring: political figures, professors, and members of the community.

President: Melba Njenga, mnnjenga@fortlewis.edu 
Advisor: Yohannes Woldemariam, yohannes_w@fortlewis.edu 


Pueblo Alliance

This organization is a Pueblo Society, bringing students together to learn about the ways of Pueblo Life and the similarities and differences in the Pueblos. It is also a way to bring the "home away from home" atmosphere here to the campus.

President: Mariah Gachupin, mmgachupin@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Yvonne Bilinski, bilinski_y@fortlewis.edu


Residents On Campus Association 

The Residents on Campus Association (ROCA) is a student organization aiming to create the best residential experience possible here at Fort Lewis. We are dedicated to improving the residence hall experience, promoting a positive, substance-free living and learning environment and being a resource for those living on campus.

President: Luke Knudsen, jlknudsen@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Hilary Brenneman, hgbrenneman@fortlewis.edu

 
S-T-U
 

Society of Business Leaders (SOBL)

The purpose of SOBL is to foster the study of business while networking with businesses in the local community. Scholars from departments campus-wide are encouraged to discover the benefits of business professionalism.

President: Luke Prince, lhprince@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: John Gadbois, gadbois_j@fortlewis.edu


Sociology Club

We are a group of students committed to social justice and engaging with the community with programs such as the Grub Hub Food Pantry, Lending Library, guest speaker events, and providing a space and resources for students to learn more about the social issues affecting our community and world and how to take action in beneficial, meaningful, and effective ways.

President: Colin Clausen, cjclausen@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Rebecca Clausen, Clausen_R@fortlewis.edu


Student Union Productions (SUP)

We serve as the student programming board that represents the diverse interests of the Fort Lewis College student body.  SUP seeks active student involvement through both participation in planning and attendance at events. We are responsible for producing a variety of special projects, larger events and cultural and educational programs to enhance the FLC experience.

Administration Chair: Danielle Lucero, dllucero@fortlewis.edu 
Advisor: Elizabeth Roberts, emroberts@fortlewis.edu


Taekwon-Do Club

Fort Lewis Taekwon-Do is a club designed to help educate members in the martial art of Taekwon-Do. Members can gain and grow their knowledge of Taekwon-Do by participating in work outs, seminars, and tournaments. Fort Lewis Taekwon-Do Club is open to all Fort Lewis College students, faculty, staff, and surrounding area residents.

President: Cory Patterson, bcpatterson@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Patrick Fredricks, ptfredricks@fortlewis.edu

 
V-W-Y-Z
 

Wanbli Ota

Wanbli Ota means Many Eagles in the Lakota language. We are a student-run, non-profit organization at Fort Lewis College. Our goal is to promote cultural diversity on campus as well as in our surrounding communities. Our events happen throughout the school year. Anyone is welcome to join Wanbli Ota! We look forward to meeting you.

President: Kaylyn LeClaire, khleclaire@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Yvonne Bilinski, bilinski_y@fortlewis.edu


Wellness Peer Advisory Council (WellPAC)

The Wellness Peer Advisory Council is a student-led health & wellness organization aimed at promoting healthy choices among FLC students. WellPAC reaches out to the campus through a humanistic approach, aiming to meet students where they are at with their physical, social, and emotional health. Through educational programs, small groups, outreach efforts and peer consultations using Motivational Interviewing techniques, WellPAC hopes to provide resources for students that will support them to be happy, healthy, and successful FLC students!

President: Carly Marceau, cnmarceau@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Kendra Gallegos Reichle, kgreichle@fortlewis.edu


Women in Science

The Fort Lewis Women in Science Club focuses on the advancement and support of women in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) disciplines. We aim to raise awareness of the challenges presented to women seeking degrees and careers in the sciences. We hope that our club will provide necessary encouragement, instill confidence in women and promote the healthy expression of each woman's authentic self. By participating in outreach, we intend to provide role models for future generations of female scientists.

President: Katherine McLain, kamclain@fortlewis.edu
Advisor: Aimee Morris, ammorris@fortlewis.edu