Fort Lewis College News

News at Fort Lewis College

A new look for the Fort Lewis College Skyhawks to be unveiled July 19

DURANGO, CO - On July 19, 2012, a new era of Fort Lewis College Athletics will begin as the College unveils two new Skyhawk logos, a primary and secondary logo. The official unveiling ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. in the Student Union Vallecito Room. Everyone is invited.

Fort Lewis College will retain the nickname “Skyhawks” and its mascot, Skyler the Skyhawk. FLC will also continue the legacy of athletic excellence that the program has built over years. The Skyhawks boast three NCAA Division II national championships and 19 USA Cycling national championships, 37 NCAA Division II playoff appearances, 30 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference regular season championships, and 24 RMAC post-season championships.

The new Skyhawk logos were designed by Dan Price, president of Adrenalin, Inc. Adrenalin has helped create logos for organizations like the NHL’s Phoenix Coyotes, Altitude Sports and Entertainment Network, and Invesco Field at Mile High. Before starting Adrenalin, Dan also created logos for the Denver Nuggets and Colorado Avalanche.

Over the last century, Fort Lewis Athletics has seen a number of evolutions and updates. Beginning in 1929, Fort Lewis has been known as the Beavers, Aggies, and Raiders before becoming the Skyhawks in 1994. The new Skyhawk logos will be rolled out over the next few years.

Learn more about Skyhawk Athletics.


Return TopTrackbackPrintPermalink
Comments are closed for this post, but if you have spotted an error or have additional info that you think should be in this post, feel free to contact us.