Pre-Health Preparation

Pre-Health Professions Advisory Committee

The Pre-Health Professions Advisory Committee consists of several faculty (mostly from the natural sciences) who regularly work with and advise students seeking careers in health-related professions.

Services Provided

The committee members will provide the following services if requested by a student:

  • Pre-health professions advising. Faculty are available to help students plan their academic schedules to meet pre-requisite and other requirements for health-related professional schools.
  • Help with placing students in internships, preceptorships, and "shadowing" experiences with local medical professionals. Members are willing to provide, with the help of the local medical community, opportunities for student interactions on a part-time basis during the school year. Students interested in these types of experiences should see a committee member well in advance to make these types of arrangements.
  • Help with and review of application materials, including personal statements. With sufficient lead-time, committee members will advise students on application materials of all types. They will review and help edit personal statements, and provide guidance throughout the application process.
  • Provide "mock interviews". Committee members will provide interested students with a mock interview. These interviews generally provide practice for students who have been invited to interview with professional schools. The committee will provide feedback on what the student is doing well, and what he/she may need to work on. The interview must be scheduled through the pre-health advisory committee chairperson, with two weeks advance notice.

Email List

Receive notices of upcoming health-related advising sessions and events by contacting Dr. Shere Byrd.

Committee Members

Name Department Office Email Phone

Dr. Shere Byrd
Committee Chair

Biology Room 2451
Berndt Hall
byrd_s@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7667
Dr. Kenny Miller Chemistry Room 144
Chemistry Hall
miller_k@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7623
Dr. John Condie Biology Room 2481
Berndt Hall
condie_j@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7145
Dr. Cathy Hartney
D.V.M.
Biology Room 2435
Berndt Hall
hartney_c@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7343
Dr. David Kozak Anthropology Room 278
Center of Southwest Studies
kozak_d@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7498
Dr. Carrie Meyer Exercise Science Room 174
Whalen Gymnasium
meyer_c@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7581
Dr. Les Sommerville Chemistry Room 250
Chemistry Hall
sommervil_l@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7370
Dr. Bill Collins Chemistry Room 142
Chemistry Hall
collins_w@fortlewis.edu (970) 247-7133