Fort Lewis College Alumni News - Full Story

News & Events Full Story

Fort Lewis College begins collaborative search for new president

President Dene Thomas
President Dene Thomas

The Board of Trustees for Fort Lewis College has launched its national search for the College’s new president by appointing a 12-person Presidential Search Committee that includes faculty, students, administrators, staff, alumni, and community members, as well as two trustees. President Dene Thomas announced in April that she will retire June 30, 2018.

“Hiring the president is the most important job the Board of Trustees performs,” said Trustee Steven Short, chair of the board. “To assist us, we have charged the committee with conducting a transparent, collaborative search to identify a dynamic leader who will help the College realize its full potential in a very challenging environment.”

The search will begin in earnest in September 2017, culminating in the hiring of the new president in spring 2018, said Trustee Richard Kaufman, the search committee chair. A search firm will be engaged to assist in the process. The new president’s term will begin July 1, 2018. A website has been created that will be periodically updated with the latest news on the search. The website is www.fortlewis.edu/presidentialsearch.

 “I am honored to lead an incredibly diverse committee,” Kaufman said. “We are committed to conducting a search process that will be open, inclusive and exhaustive. We invite everyone to participate.”

Joining Kaufman on the committee will be Trustee Ernest House, Jr., who currently serves as the Board’s vice chair.

Other committee members include:

Faculty: Dr. Michael Valdez, Associate Professor of Management, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees; Dr. David Blake, Associate Professor of Biology, President of the Faculty Senate; and Dr. Sue Kraus, Professor of Psychology and Department Chair

Students: Dustin Fink, President, Associated Students of Fort Lewis College; and Tara Abrams

Administration: Dr. Glenna Witt Sexton, Vice President for Student Affairs

Staff: Tracey Piccoli, Director of Financial Aid

FLC Foundation: Keith Newbold, Chair of the FLC Foundation Board of Directors

Alumni: Matt Taylor, Group President, Integrated Payments and Emerging Channels, Vantiv

Community: Kerry Siggins, CEO, StoneAge, Inc.

Categories: Alumni and Friends, Home Page, News PageNumber of views: 4702



Share this Page

Alumni Engagement
Fort Lewis College
1000 Rim Dr
Durango, CO 81301-3999