Anthropology Department

Our Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Rebecca L. Austin, Ph.D.

Rebecca L. Austin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology & Environmental Studies

austin_r@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7346
 
Professional interests: community-based resource managemen; environmental movements and organizations; traditional cultural properties; social impact assessment; cultural perceptions of lawns and landscapes; coastal anthropology; curriculum design; applied anthropology consulting. Geographic areas: Philippines, Southwest U.S., Alaska, Florida.

Kathleen S. Fine-Dare, Ph.D.

Kathleen S. Fine-Dare, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology & Gender/Women’s Studies

fine_k@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7438

Professional Interests: Indigenous cultural politics and repatriation; NAGPRA; History of anthropology; critical anthropology and indigenous advocacy; neo-liberalism and education in Latin America and the U.S.; nationalism and postcolonial theory; Latin American urban fiesta complex; intellectual property rights and Native Americans; anthropology of gender and gender asymmetry; feminist theory; ideological aspects of museum and cultural park interpretation and displays; tourism.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/fine_k

David Kozak, Ph.D.

David Kozak, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology

kozak_d@fortlewis.edu
970-247-7498

Professional interests: Medical anthropology; applied anthropology; oral traditions; adventure culture; service learning; US Southwest; East Africa.

 

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology

mulhern_d@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7500

Professional interests: Skeletal biology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology, human evolution, and repatriation, with an emphasis on ancient North American, Egyptian and Nubian populations.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/mulhern_d

Charles R. Riggs, Ph.D., RPA

Charles R. Riggs, Ph.D., RPA
Professor of Anthropology & Department Chair

riggs_c@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7409

Professional interests: Southwest archaeology with emphases on prehistoric architecture; migration; GIS-based approaches; public education; Native American collaboration; and cultural resource management.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/riggs_c

Visiting Faculty

Janneli Miller
Visiting Professor of Anthropology & Environmental Studies

jfmiller1@fortlewis.edu
970-247-7298

Professional interests: Ecological medicine; environment and health; ethnobotany; indigenous healing systems; reproductive health; culturally appropriate health care service delivery and applied medical anthropology; Tarahumara; N. Mexico & borderlands; indigenous peoples of the Southwest US.

 

Jesse Tune, Ph.D.
Visiting Professor of Anthropology 

 
970-247-7273
 
Professional interests: hunter-gatherer behavioral adaptations during the Pleistocene/Holocene transition; lithic technological organization; environmental archaeology; geoarchaeology; human/environment interactions; public archaeology.

 

Staff

Laurel Baldwin
Administrative Assistant

baldwin_l@fortlewis.edu
970-382-6923

 

Emeritus Faculty

Philip Duke, Ph.D., F.S.A., Professor Emeritus
duke_p@fortlewis.edu

Don Gordon, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
gordon_d@fortlewis.edu

W. James Judge, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
judge_j@fortlewis.edu

Susan Riches, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
riches_s@fortlewis.edu

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology

mulhern_d@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7500

Professional interests: Skeletal biology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology, human evolution, and repatriation, with an emphasis on ancient North American, Egyptian and Nubian populations.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/mulhern_d

Emeritus Faculty

Philip Duke, Ph.D., F.S.A.,

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.

Dawn M. Mulhern, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology

mulhern_d@fortlewis.edu 
970-247-7500

Professional interests: Skeletal biology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology, human evolution, and repatriation, with an emphasis on ancient North American, Egyptian and Nubian populations.

More information at: http://faculty.fortlewis.edu/mulhern_d

 

Print