Board of Trustees

Fort Lewis College Board of Trustees

About the Board of Trustees

In June 2002, Colorado Governor Bill Owens signed legislation that approved the creation of a stand-alone Board of Trustees for Fort Lewis College. This nine-member Board of Trustees began governing the College on September 1, 2002.

The Trustees make policy for Fort Lewis College and oversee its operation. The board consists of seven members who serve four-year terms. Each of these individuals is appointed by the Governor and requires Senate confirmation. No more than four shall be from any one political party, and two shall be from Southwest Colorado, which is defined in the bill as Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma and San Juan counties.

The Trustees will also include non-voting representatives elected by the student body and the faculty at large.

The current trustees appointed by the Governor include (photo front row-left to right) Dianne Pacheco-VanVoorhees, Nora Jacquez, Ernest House, Jr., Richard Kaufman, (photo back row-left to right) John Wells, Alan G. Hill, and Steven Short. The board also includes a faculty representative and a student representative.

Prior to being governed by the Trustees, the State Board of Agriculture governed Fort Lewis since it first became an agricultural high school in 1911.

Meeting dates for 2016

  • Friday, February 12, 2016
  • Friday, April 1, 2016
  • Friday, June 3, 2016
  • Thursday & Friday, August 4 & 5, 2016
  • Friday, October 7, 2016
  • Friday, December 2, 2016

Meeting dates for 2017

  • Friday, February 10, 2017
  • Friday, April 7, 2017
  • Friday, May 26, 2017
  • Thursday & Friday, August 3 & 4, 2017 (Retreat)
  • Friday, October 13, 2017
  • Friday, December 1, 2017

*Meetings will be in Durango, Colorado 

Contact Info

Peggy Sharp
Deputy Secretary
Board of Trustees for Fort Lewis College


There are no announcements at this time.

Please contact Peggy Sharp, Deputy Secretary to the Board of Trustees at (970) 247-7437 or at for further information.