School of Business Administration - Dean's Report

Monday, May 01, 2017


Summer Semester 1, 2017

SOBA DEAN’S Report                                                                                             May 1, 2017

April was an exciting month for the School of Business Administration, its students and its alumni.

AACSB Extension of Accreditation

The School of Business Administration received official word on April 19 that its AACSB Accreditation had been extended. The faculty, staff, administration and students are all pleased to hear that the hard work and effort put forward by the School of Business Administration to provide a high-quality education has been recognized by an extension of our AACSB accreditation. SOBA has been continuously accredited by AACSB since 1974 when we were one of the first undergraduate-only schools of business to obtain accreditation. It is a result of the commitment of the SOBA faculty and deans, past and present, that we have been able to maintain accreditation through changing times and changing standards.

  Be on the lookout for the AACSB’s new branding on the SOBA webpages and marketing material.

Business Plan Competition (HawkTank)

The second annual HawkTank Competition was completed on an exciting Saturday April 15. The eleven teams, out of 25 participating teams, that made the semifinals presented their business plans in the morning to a panel of judges. The six finalists gave their final pitch to the judges in the afternoon. The judges included:

  • Mark Daigle – President First National Bank of Durango
  • Sean McCabe (Accounting ’97) – Anuskewicz & McCabe, P.C.
  • Allison Aichele (Accounting ’13) – La Plata County Treasurer
  • John Wolgamott – Co-founder and Chairman StoneAge Tools

Winners were announced at the SOBA Awards and HawkTank Gala Dinner. These included:

First Place – $5,000 prize

Nitrum Dynamic Paint – Daniel Martin, Accounting major

Second Place – $2,500 prize

Locally in the Wood - No team members from SOBA

Third Place – $1,000 prize

ZXI Style – Iain Morrison, Economics major and Brianna Ozvat, Accounting major

Alumni Award - $5,000 prize

Bunz Bakery – Brook Perry (Marketing ’16) and Emily Dell, Business Administration major

Honorable Mentions

Agra-Cycle - Connor Cafferty and Lauren Smith, Business Administration majors

Healing Hands – Rhonda Skeet, Marketing Major

  • On a sad note related to HawkTank, Giancarlo Vigil, leader of last year’s first place winning team, passed away in April 2017.

SOBA Recognitions and Awards

Also at the Banquet, SOBA recognized its student leaders and its extraordinary student achievers. These included:

Leaders of SOBA Student Organizations

  • Maya St. Cyr – American Indian Business Leaders
  • Ande Lampert – Beta Alpha Psi, Accounting Honors organization
  • Natalia Sells - Student Alumni Networking (Natalia was also named Miss Hozhoni for 2017-2018)
  • Tristana Flores – Marketing Club
  • Michael Conway – Economics Club

Graduating Senior Awards – Also Honored at Campus-wide Celebration of Academic Achievement on April 28

  • Tyler Rice – Marketing
  • Nicholas Gerdts – Economics
  • Emily Dell – Business Administration
  • Ande Lampert – Accounting

Concentration Awards

  • Timothy MacArthur – Business Administration Engineering Management
  • Braydin Mehnert – Business Administration Finance
  • Justin Yazzie – Business Administration Tourism & Hospitality Management
  • Kelsey Kramer – Business Administration Business Administration
  • Mason Shea – Economics Economics
  • Michael Conway – Economics Business Economics
  • Lindsay Roach – Business Administration International Business
  • Chelsea Ficken – Business Administration Management

Rising Star Awards

  • Gabriel Ogbonnaya – Economics
  • Brittany Glantz – Accounting
  • Colton Beaty – Business Administration
  • Ryan Torres – Marketing

Representative Awards

  • Tomomi Watanabe – International Student
  • Chiaki Suenaga – Global Citizen
  • Denali Gillen – Best SOBA Minor
  • Felicia Arredondo-Perez – Best Internship

Congratulations to all of SOBA’s wonderful students


On April 29 at the 54th Fort Lewis College Commencement Ceremony over 500 graduates were honored in Whalen Gymnasium including a student marshal from SOBA – Chelsea Ficken. They included

26 Accounting graduates (6 with honors)

67 Business Administration graduates (12 with honors)

14 Economics graduate (5 with honors)

16 Marketing Graduates (1 with honors)

We welcome the over 100 SOBA graduates to the ranks of Fort Lewis College alumni and wish them the best in their future careers or academic pursuits.

Finally, thank you to all SOBA faculty and staff who attended the Retirement Reception held for Dean Maureen Brandon of Arts and Sciences and me last week. I appreciate your support.

Paul McGurr Interim Dean, School of Business Administration

Number of views: 2532