Fort Lewis College Foundation

About the Fort Lewis College Foundation

The Fort Lewis College Foundation is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt nonprofit organization that exists to support Fort Lewis College. The Foundation began in 1969 with an $18,700 gift from Mrs. T. Chase McPherson. Today, its total assets are over $20 million. Restricted funds and scholarships are worth $17 million. Unrestricted funds are worth $2.5 million.The foundation provides student scholarships and other funds for the academic and cultural enrichment of the campus and its students.

Our Mission

Enriching educational and cultural opportunities at Fort Lewis College by encouraging and stewarding gifts for scholarships, programs and facilities - wise investments in the leaders of tomorrow.

Bill of Rights

Philanthropy is based on voluntary action for the common good. It is a tradition of giving and sharing that is primary to the quality of life. To as sure that philanthropy merits the respect and trust of the general public and that donors and prospective donors can have full confidence in the not-for-profit organizations and causes they are asked to support, we declare that all donors have these rights:

  1. To be informed of the organization's mission, of the way the organization intends to use donated resources, and of its capacity to use donations effectively for their intended purposes.
  2. To be informed of the identity of those serving on the organization's governing board, and to expect the board to exercise prudent judgment in its stewardship responsibilities.
  3. To have access to the organization's most recent financial statements.
  4. To be assured their gifts will be used for the purposes for which they were given.
  5. To receive appropriate acknowledgement and recognition.
  6. To be assured that information about their donations is handled with respect and with confidentiality to the extent provided by law.
  7. To expect that all relationships with individuals representing organizations of interest to the donor will be professional in nature.
  8. To be informed whether those seeking donations are volunteers, employees of the organization or hired solicitors.
  9. To have the opportunity for their names to be deleted from mailing lists that an organization may intend to share.
  10. To feel free to ask questions when making a donation and to receive prompt, truthful and forthright answers.

The text of this statement in its entirety was developed by the American Association of Fund-Raising Counsel (AAFRC), Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (AHP), Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE), and National Society of Fund Raising Executives (NSFRE).

Board of Directors

Interim Chair: Gene Bradley

Vice Chair: Keith Newbold

Secretary: Moni Grushkin

Treasurer: Mel Owen

Executive Board: Terry Bacon, Gene Bradley, Julie Duvall, Jim Foster, Moni Grushkin, Al Harper, Mark Jastorff, Eric Jones, Don Mapel, Jim Morehart, Keith Newbold, Mel Owen, Debra Parmenter, Dene K Thomas, Gary Treat, John Wells, Dave West

Trustee Liaison: John Wells

ASFLC President: Connor Cafferty

Fort Lewis College President: Dr. Dene Kay Thomas

Skyhawk Athletic Association President: Eric Jones

Professional Associates President: Gary Treat

2016 Full Board of Directors: Cissy Anderson, Richard Ballantine, Ray Boucher, Mike Burns, Chuck Carson, Pearl Casias, Darrin Church, Ronald Fogleman, John Francis, Bob Hill, Barney Hinkle, Terry Hutchison, Melisa Jackson, George Kambouris, Dale Kneller, Roger Ptolemy, Anne Putnam, Shane Seibel, Ray Shepherd, Matthew Taylor, Shanan Campbell Wells, Howard Wilson

Our Staff

Mark Jastorff
Vice President of Advancement and Foundation Executive Director
(970) 247-7074
majastorff@fortlewis.edu

Kim Schwartz
Assistant to the Vice President
(970) 247-7080
kaschwartz@fortlewis.edu


Debbie Bollinger
Gift Entry and Data Integrity Specialist
dabollinger@fortlewis.edu

Suzanne Connors
Director of Alumni Engagement and Annual Giving
sconnors@fortlewis.edu

Denise Dickinson
Senior Financial Manager
(970) 247-7425
dickinson_d@fortlewis.edu

Sandy Jameson
Scholarship Manager
(970) 247-7121
jameson_s@fortlewis.edu

Jeff Jantz
Director of Gift Planning
(970) 247-7069
jantz_j@fortlewis.edu

Dave Kerns
Major Gift Officer
970.247.7427
kerns_d@fortlewis.edu

JC Perteet
Advancement Coordinator
970-247-6111
Perteet_J@fortlewis.edu

Sarah Pretzer
Director of Campaigns
970-247-7658
sgpretzer@fortlewis.edu

Andreas Tischhauser
Major Gift Officer
(970) 247-6735
tischhause_a@fortlewis.edu

Shan Wells
Senior Designer/Videographer
970-247-6769
Email: swells@fortlewis.edu

Ana Zeiler
Manager of Advancement Services
(970) 247-6179
Zeiler_a@fortlewis.edu