Sociology & Human Services

Faculty & student activities

The following meetings/events are open to everyone.

Academy for Peace Education (APE)
A multi-level training dedicated to educating the public on peacemaking, peace activism, and peacebuilding.
Contact: Dr. Anthony Nocella, ajnocella@fortlewis.edu and Dr. Erik Juergensmeyer, juergensmeyer_E@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Animas Listening and Community Empowerment Project
Find us on Facebook

Black Student Union
Meetings are 5pm Mondays
Contacts: Dabney Meachum, djmeachum@fortlewis.edu and Mekayla Smith, mdsmith2@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Criminology Club
Contact: Ryan Davis, rrdavis@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Durango Hip Hop
1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month
7pm to 8pm
16 Reed Library
Contact: Dr. Anthony Nocella ajnocella@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Durango Prisoner Letter Writing
1st and 3rd Friday of every month
5pm to 6:30pm
16 Reed Library
Contact: Dr. Anthony Nocella ajnocella@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Durango Save the Kids
A national grass-roots organization dedicated to ending and creating alternatives to the school to prison pipeline and the the incarceration of all youth.
Contact: Anthony Nocella, ajnocella@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook | Website

Fort Lewis College Bee Club
Contact:Rebecca Clausen, clausen_r@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Fort Lewis College Campaign to End Racism
Contact: Dabney Meachum, djmeachum@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Grub Hub
(free food for students, staff, faculty, and community members)
Open every Thursday 9am to 5pm
85 Reed Library
Contact: Katie Young, kayoung@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

Sociology Club
Meetings are every Monday at 6pm to 7pm
16 Reed Library
Contact: Katie Young, kayoung@fortlewis.edu
Find us on Facebook

In the news


Sociology students support Manna Soup Kitchen with bake sale. Video by The Durango Herald.