About the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of nine voting and two non-voting members who are responsible for making policy for Fort Lewis College and overseeing its operation. Voting members are appointed by the Colorado governor and require Colorado State Senate confirmation. They serve four-year terms. The two non-voting members are elected by FLC faculty and students. The faculty representative serves a two-year term. The student representative serves a one-year term.

The Fort Lewis College president is appointed by and reports to the Board and is responsible for day-to-day management of the institution and its employees.

Current trustees

As stated in House Bill 20-1108, no more than five members shall be from any one political party; at least one member must be an enrolled member of a federally recognized Native American tribe; and at least 2 members must reside in Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, or San Juan county, or on the Ute Mountain Ute or Southern Ute reservation.

The 2021 FLC Board of Trustees includes:

College Representatives:

  • Carson Ingram, Student Representative
  • Rebecca Clausen, Faculty Representative
  • Michael Garvey, Staff Representative

History of Board of Trustees  

In June 2002, Colorado Governor Bill Owens signed legislation that approved the creation of a stand-alone Board of Trustees for Fort Lewis College. The first Board of Trustees began governing the College on September 1, 2002. The Board increased from seven to nine voting members in March 2020.

Prior to being governed by the Trustees, the State Board of Agriculture governed Fort Lewis since it first became an agricultural high school in 1911.

Contact the Board of Trustees

To reach any of the Board of Trustees, contact Vikki Agovino, deputy secretary to the Board, at vmagovino@fortlewis.edu.

Meeting dates

  • Friday, December 17, 2021
  • Friday, February 11, 2022 Regular Meeting
  • Friday, April 8, 2022 Regular Meeting
  • Friday, May 20, 2022 Single topic - Budget Parameters
  • Friday, June 10, 2022 Regular Meeting
  • Friday, August 5, 2022 Board Retreat
  • Friday, October 14, 2022 Regular Meeting
  • Friday, December 16, 2022 Regular Meeting

*Meetings will be in Durango, Colorado