Department Information

The Fort Lewis College Police Department operates twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, and 365 days each year. The primary mission of the Police Department is to meet the health and safety needs of the Fort Lewis College campus. The staff includes a Director (Chief of Police), one Administrative Assistant, two commissioned Corporals, five commissioned Police Officers, with arrest authority, and one Parking Enforcement Officer. The officers conduct vehicle, and foot patrols on campus, and are charged with the enforcement of state and local laws, and Fort Lewis College policy, especially as the latter relates to the Student Code of  Conduct. The Fort Lewis College Police Department works very closely with the Durango Police Department (DPD), the La Plata County Sheriff's Office (LPSO), the Colorado State Patrol (CSP), Colorado Bureau of Investigation, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and the United States Marshall's Office in enforcing local, State, and Federal laws.

Office Hours:  8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Phone: 970-247-7491
FAX: 970-247-7386
After Hours Requests: 970-749-6581
Location:  ASPEN HALL (modular building across from Physical Plant, north side of campus, south of the golf course)

The Fort Lewis College Police Department consists of:

Name Title Year
Kim Angel Program Assistant Serving Since 1994
Brett Deming Chief of Police Serving Since 1998
Brian Jacobs Police Officer I Serving Since 2007
Matt Dufva Police Sergeant Serving Since 2011
Austin Gordon Police Officer I Serving since 2019
Rickey Thomas Police Corporal Serving Since 2020
Jake Hampton Police Officer I Serving Since 2022
Skyler Nash Police Officer I Serving Since 2022