What is the PRAXIS?

The Praxis Series: Professional Assessments for Beginning Teachers is a set of rigorous and carefully validated assessments that provides accurate, reliable information for use by state education agencies in making licensing decisions.

Nearly 80 percent of states that include tests as part of their teacher licensure process rely on The Praxis Series.™

Colleges and universities may also use the basic academic skills assessments to qualify individuals for entry into teacher education programs.

The three categories of assessments in The Praxis Series correspond to the three milestones in teacher development:

  • Entering a teacher training program Praxis I™: Academic Skills Assessments
  • Licensure for entering the profession Praxis II™ Subject Assessments
  • The first year of teaching Praxis III™ Classroom Performance Assessments

The Praxis Series and related assessments are designed to be used principally in connection with other criteria by state authorities for the purpose of licensing education professionals. Test scores used to inform such credentialing decisions must be supported by appropriate validity evidence. ETS employs a comprehensive validation process for this test score use that is consistent with best practices, as recommended by the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing.

How do I register?

Please visit ETS - Praxis website for registration information.

Praxis is no longer offered on the Fort Lewis College campus. The exam is offered online at a certified testing center. San Juan Community College in Farmington, New Mexico is the closest test site to Fort Lewis College.


For questions concerning the PRAXIS tests and to learn if you are eligible to sit for one, contact: 

Dr. Jennifer Trujillo
Dean of the School of Education
Email Jennifer Trujillo

William Camp
Field Coordinator
Email William Camp