Take philosophy out of the classroom

The Philosophy Club is a student organization promoting philosophical discussion outside of class. Students meet twice each month to discuss a wide variety of philosophical issues. Meetings are open to anyone with an interest in philosophy.

Club Officers for 2022-23

  • Emily Bennett - President
  • Avery Wickes - Vice President
  • Lotus McCourt - Secretary
  • Kaden Heitfeld - Treasurer


The lineup for upcoming (& past) meetings for the fall semester is as follows:

All meetings are on Mondays from 7-8:30 p.m. in the Senate Chambers

  • Sept. 5 - Religion as a Fraternity, with Lotus McCourt, Avery Wickes, & Emily Bennett, Student Researchers
  • Sept. 19 - Philosophy of Mathematics, with Annie Bergman, Professor of Mathematics & Guest Speaker Dan
  • Oct 3 - The Rights of Animals: The Ethics of Pet Ownership with Andrew Fulmer, Professor of Psychology
  • Oct 24 - Are Voters Rational?: Nonrational Influences that Affect People's Political Viewpoints with Paul Debell, Professor of Political Science/Philosophy
  • Nov 7 - Metaethics Conjunction with the Philosophy of Science with Mark Boespflug, Philosophy Professor
  • Dec 5 - A Virtue Theory Response to Inconsequentialism with Jack Wilson, a current student majoring in Philosophy.

A Selected Sample of Past Presentations

  • "Left-Libertarianism as a Promising Form of Liberal Egalitarianism",  Dr. Peter Vallentyne, University of Missouri (2019)  
  • "Minimizing Marriage", Dr. Elizabeth Brake, Arizona State University (2015)
  • "Do We Have Souls?", Dr. Eric Olson, University of Sheffield, UK (2014)
  • “Skeptical Religion: What it Means and Why it Matters”, Dr. J.L. Schellenberg, Mount Saint Vincent University, Canada (2013)
  • "On Pridelessness", Dr. Jeremy Fischer, University of Calgary (2012)
  • "De-fusing the Darwinian Dilemma", Dr. Christina van Dyke, Calvin College (2012)
  • "Do we have a Moral Obligation to Obey the Law?", Dr. Peter Markie, University of Missouri (2011)
  • "Is Epistemic Self-Reliance an Ideal?", Dr. Linda Zagzebski, University of Oklahoma (2011)
  • "The Intelligent Design Debate", Dr. Martin Curd, Purdue University (2009)

View past presentations

Contact the club

For more information, contact:

Dr. Justin McBrayer, Associate Dean/Division Coordinator, Professor of Philosophy
Email Dr. McBrayer