Political Science Faculty

All full-time faculty members hold Doctoral Degrees in Political Science, with specializations in nearly all the major subfields.  Our faculty combine dedication to teaching with the excitement of active scholarship.  We participate in professional conferences and publish with academic presses or scholarly journals or law reviews.

Dr. Ruth Alminas
Chair/Associate Professor of Political Science


  • Armed Conflict and Conflict Management
  • Internal Displacement
  • Nongovernmental Organizations
  • Organizational Theory
  • Social Network Analysis


  • Ph.D., Political Science, University of Arizona, 2012
  • M.A., Political Science, University of Arizona, 2008
  • M.A., Religion, University of Chicago Divinity School, 2005
  • B.A., Religious Studies, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2000


Phone Icon 970-247-6166
Email Icon Email

Leonardo Alvarado
Assistant Professor of Political Science


  • L.L.M., Indigenous Peoples’ Law and Policy, University of Arizona College of Law, 2005
  • J.D., University of Arizona College of Law, 2004
  • M.A., American Indian Studies, University of Arizona, 2000
  • B.A., International Relations, Fort Lewis College, 1997

Areas of expertise: 

  • International Human Rights Law and Policy
  • Comparative Law and Policy on Indigenous Peoples’ Rights
  • Legal Pluralism and Transitional Justice
  • Public Law and Public International Law


Phone Icon 970-247-7256
Email Icon Email

Dr. Paul DeBell
Associate Professor of Political Science
Assistant Dean of Impact and Innovation


  • Comparative Politics
  • Political Psychology
  • Populism and Anti-Establishment Movements 
  • Campaigns and Elections
  • Political Communications and Media
  • Democratization
  • Post-Communist Politics


  • Ph.D., Political Science, The Ohio State University, 2016
  • M.A., Political Science, The Ohio State University, 2011
  • B.A., Government and Philosophy, College of William & Mary, 2006


Phone Icon 970-382-6953
Email Icon Email

Dr. Kathryn Linares-Gray
Gender & Sexuality Studies Coordinator
Assistant Professor of Political Science and Gender & Sexuality Studies


  • Gender and politics
  • Immigration, refugee, and asylum politics in the US context
  • Race, gender, and US political institutions
  • Gendered violence
  • Feminist theory


  • PhD, Political Science, University of Oregon, 2015
  • MA, Political Science, University of Colorado, Denver, 2008
  • BA, Political Science, University of Colorado, Boulder, 2005


Phone Icon 970-247-7357
Email Icon Email

Dr. Michael Rendon
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Political Science

Areas of Expertise

  • Population and consumption
  • Circular economy
  • Informal recycling sector
  • Public policy


  • Ph.D., Sociology, Universitat Autonomo de Barcelona, 2020
  • M.A., Political Science, University of Colorado Denver, 2016
  • B.A., Population Studies, Fort Lewis College, 2000


Phone Icon 970-247-6255
Email Icon Email

Emeritus faculty

Dr. Kenyon Bunch
Professor of Political Science

Dr. Byron Dare
Professor of Political Science